The Science and History of the Asian Squat | 8Asians.com

I came across this today on 8asians.com and had to read it. It is something my friends who have been to china joke about needing to practice for our toilet limbering. But i had never fully thought about what it actually was or how it was really done….this is a fun and fascinating way to learn more about this very useful stance。

 

The Asian squat. I’ve always been able to do it naturally. For those of you who don’t know, the Asian squat is when you have both feet on the ground, butt touching ankles and knees spread wide. I’ve always done it but the first time I really noticed others doing it was when I went to Bali. Every street I walked down, there were lines and lines of men and women doing the Asian squat asking me if I wanted to buy women, drugs, and/or tourist crap. I almost forgot–in one hand they always had a cigarette and/or a beer. Sometimes both.

Still not sure what I’m talking about? Check out Daniel Hsia’s amazing video, “How to do the Asian Squat” [2002].

Full story The Science and History of the Asian Squat | Discrimination | 8Asians.com.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Újpest Munkaruha
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 05:45:23

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

